Munich Peace Church a treasure built of garbage
Timofej Wassiljewitsch Prochorow arrived in Munich in 1952 at the age of 58, a Russian immigrant fugitive. A former Russian soldier, he had fled his homeland in the then-Soviet Union in 1943 seeking a place of peace, the story goes. According to stories, he was “sent” to Munich by higher powers and was even told where to build a church, which became the so-called “Ost-West Friedenskirche” (East-West Peace Church) – the website is only in German. Along the way he met his partner-to-be, Natasha.
Homestead construction materials came from garbage
The homestead hidden behind trees, unvisited by most tourists and even unknown to many Munich residents, was built by hand by the couple using a lot of leftover debris from WWII. Over the decades, Timofej and Natasha gathered junk, even dragging a lot of it from a nearby landfill mountain of garbage (“Schuttberg”) that became Olympic Mountain for the 1972 games. Think of the glittering foil from chocolate bars lining the ceiling and rusty pails decorating trees.
Timofej’s peaceful oasis hidden from tourists
If you are in Munich, after visiting the Olympic tourist sites, save time for a side jaunt to take in this peaceful collection of hauntingly beautiful buildings, lush and shaded under a canopy of trees. The Peace Church and grounds is where “Väterchen Timofej” lived — illegally, actually — but with the city’s and citizens’ blessings and love for 52 years until his death at about 110 in 2004 (His exact birth date is subject to some debate). Timofej became known over the decades as “Väterchen,” which loosely translates as “Poppa” or “Daddy” – kind of like any dear elderly man down the block who is everybody’s favorite uncle.
His lovingly hand-built and meticulously cared-for (but illegal) residence was smack in the middle of plans for the 1972 Olympic Park. It was to be bulldozed for an athletic stadium, and he would have had no place to go. But protests saved him. Indeed, planners moved the park slightly farther north, leaving his “village” intact! Few among the international crowds for the 1972 Games even knew he existed in the shadows of athletic pomp and circumstance. But there was Timo, living peacefully just outside the glaring media spotlight. Still, publicity of his near-miss, which was covered broadly in the media, brought lines of people to ask him for help and healing, and thus came the name “Ost-West Friedenskirche.”
Munich hermit Timofej still brings peace
Now quietly maintained by a volunteer group of citizens, the Peace Church grounds are magical, with winding paths leading to the doors of buildings, past broken bird houses decorated with strands of beads or a doll, and wind chimes made from metal or pottery scraps. Despite being in the middle of open fields used commonly for crowded festivals such as the popular Tollwood festival in July held each year, the grounds remains a hidden gem – and protected.